Memorial for the dead of MH 17 at Parliament House

Prayers were said in Parliament House, Canberra, surrounding the signing of the Book of Condolence for the victims of the MH17 aircraft disaster on Wednesday 23 July 2014.

The Governor General Sir Peter Cosgrove, the Prime Minister Tony Abbott, along with, the Cabinet Ministers, as well as the Ambassadors representing the nations who lost loved ones were all present.  After the welcome from the Speaker Bronwyn Bishop, there was a minute silence.  The National Anthem, was sung.

The Anglican Bishop to the Defence Force,  Ian Lambert assisted by Federal Parliament Chaplain Peter Rose led the prayers.  The hymn ‘The Lord is My Shepherd’ was led by the St Christopher’s Choir.

Bishop Ian said “It was a solemn and dignified Service befitting the tragedy that has affected many around the world. It was right we gather to pray for the peace of the victims, and peace in our world.”

Along with the dignitaries present the Chief of the Defence Force Air Chief Marshal Mark Binsken and the other Service Chiefs were present and signed the Book of Condolence.  The short service was held in the Marble Foyer of Parliament House and witnessed by hundreds of members of the public.

Latest Articles

Similar articles