Church leaders urges Christians to vote in Malaysia’s general election


Philip Thomas, the chair of CFM and head of the Council of Churches of Malaysia, stated: “It is our responsibility to choose wisely our political leaders as this is our sacred duty in nation-building.” The Syrian Orthodox archbishop was joined by a cross section of church leaders in his call for Christians to vote, including:

  • Julian Leow Beng Kim, Roman Catholic Archbishop of Kuala Lumpur 
  • Ong Sek Leang, Bishop of the Assemblies of God 
  • T. Jeyakumar, Methodist Bishop
  • Danald Jute, Anglican Bishop of Kuching
  • Eu Hong Seng, the Chairperson of the National Evangelical Christian Fellowship (NECF)
  • Steven Abarrow, Anglican Bishop of West Malaysia 
  • John Wong, Roman Catholic Archbishop of Kota Kinabalu
  • Simon Poh, Roman Catholic Archbishop of Kuching