Celtic bishops meet in Scotland


The College of Bishops of the Scottish Episcopal Church has been joined by 12 Anglican bishops from the Church in Wales and Church of Ireland at this year’s Celtic Bishops’ Conference, held in Inverness for the first time (27 to 29 January).

The agenda for the three-day event at the Kingsmill Hotel includes preparations for the Lambeth Conference 2020 later this year, which extends an invitation to all bishops from across the worldwide Anglican Communion of more than 165 countries to help seek God’s direction for the future of the Anglican Church.

As part of the programme of events, the bishops today [Tuesday] visited Deputy Provost Elizabeth McAllister as her guests for afternoon tea at Inverness Town House.

Deputy Provost Elizabeth McAllister said: “I am delighted and honoured to welcome the Celtic Bishops to the Inverness Town House and to recognise the importance of the Celtic Bishops’ Conference being held in the City of Inverness. The Highlands prides itself in welcoming people of all Faiths and beliefs and on behalf of the councillors and citizens of Inverness hope that our working relationship with the Interfaith Community remains strong, particularly at a time when people are experiencing particular hardship for a variety of reasons.”

The Most Rev Dr Mark Strange, Primus of the Scottish Episcopal Church, said: “We are delighted to welcome visiting bishops from the Church in Wales and Church of Ireland, to continue our regular dialogue in areas of shared interest. We are also grateful to the Deputy Provost of Inverness for marking the occasion, and to the city’s people for their warm welcome this week.”

The bishops completed a walking pilgrimage through the city following their visit to the Town House, before Eucharist at St Michael and All Angels. On Wednesday they will attend a farewell dinner at which the guest speaker will be The Reverend Canon Dr Joseph Morrow, Lord Lyon King of Arms, before the Irish and Welsh bishops return home on Thursday morning.

The Celtic Bishops’ Conference is held every two to three years, with the venue rotated among the nations. It was last held in Scotland in 2011, at Pitlochry.

In attendance are, from the Scottish Episcopal Church:

The Rt Rev John Armes, Bishop of Edinburgh
The Rt Rev Anne Dyer, Bishop of Aberdeen & Orkney
The Rt Rev Ian Paton, Bishop of St Andrews, Dunkeld & Dunblane
The Rt Rev Kevin Pearson, Bishop of Argyll & The Isles and Bishop-elect of Glasgow & Galloway
The Most Rev Mark Strange, Bishop of Moray, Ross & Caithness and Primus of the Scottish Episcopal Church
The Rt Rev Andrew Swift, Bishop of Brechin

from the Church of Ireland:

The Rt Rev Michael Burrows, Bishop of Cashel, Waterford, Lismore, Ossory, Ferns & Leighlin
The Rt Rev Paul Colton, Bishop of Cork, Cloyne & Ross
The Rt Rev Andrew Forster, Bishop of Derry & Raphoe
The Most Rev Michael Jackson, Archbishop of Dublin, Bishop of Glendalough, Primate of Ireland and Metropolitan
The Rt Rev Kenneth Kearon, Bishop of Limerick & Killaloe
The Rt Rev John McDowell, Bishop of Clogher
The Rt Rev Patrick Rooke, Bishop of Tuam, Killala & Achonry
The Most Rev Patricia Storey, Bishop of Meath & Kildare

and from the Church in Wales:

The Rt Rev Gregory Cameron, Bishop of St Asaph
The Rt Rev Andy John, Bishop of Bangor
The Rt Rev Dr Joanna Penberthy, Bishop of St Davids
The Rt Rev June Osbourne, Bishop of Llandaff