Installations and consecrations this week for the Church of Nigeria

A new dean, three archbishops and three bishops will be installed on July 24 in Lagos

The Archbishop of Aba Province, the Most Rev. Ikechi Nwosu, Bishop of Umuahia will be installed as Dean of the Church of Nigeria by the Primate of All-Nigeria, the Most Rev. Nicholas Okoh at a ceremony Sunday 24 July 2016 at Archbishop Vining Memorial Cathedral in Lagos. The service will also see the appointment of new provincial archbishops and the consecration of three bishops elected at the June House of Bishops meeting.

Dr. Nwosu, (pictured) will take up the number two post in the province in succession to the Most Rev. Christian Efobi, Archbishop of the Niger Province and Bishop of Aguata. At the June meeting Archbishop Efobi was re-elected Archbishop of the Niger. The Most Rev. Michael Fape, Bishop of Remo, was elected by his peers to serve as Archbishop of Lagos in succession to the Most. Rev. Adebayo Akinde.

The Rt. Rev. Akinpelumni Johnson will be consecrated bishop of the Diocese of Lagos Mainland; the Dean of the Archbishop Vining Memorial Cathedral, Ven. Abel Ajibodu will be consecrated bishop of the Diocese Ile Oluji; and the General Secretary of the Church of Nigeria, the Ven. Israel Okoye will be consecrated Bishop of Diocese of Ihiala, at a service that will see 10 of the church’s 14 archbishops in attendance and over 100 of its bishops.

Latest Articles

Similar articles