Anglican Communion Office



Communiqué

International Pentecostal-Anglican Commission (IPAC)

Third Annual Meeting in South Africa, 8 - 13 June 2024

The third annual meeting of the International Pentecostal–Anglican Commission (IPAC) took place at Shikwaru Lodge, near Mokopane, South Africa, between 8 and 14 June 2024. The Commission continues, as a result of decisions by the Anglican Consultative Council and the Pentecostal World Fellowship (PWF), to explore ecumenical dialogue together. The Commission heard stories and examples of the relationship between Anglicans and Pentecostals in different parts of the world. The meeting was hosted by the Pentecostal World Fellowship. The Commission enjoyed morning and evening prayer, led alternately by members of each team.



The Commission heard papers working towards a common statement on holiness, sacramentality and renewal in both traditions. In particular, the focus was on theological education, ministerial formation, discipleship and holiness. The papers presented will contribute to the final report of the dialogue in 2026. Working groups were set up to prepare for the next meeting.

The Commission is grateful to the staff of Shikwaru Lodge for their hospitality during the week. It attended Celebration Church in Mokopane on Sunday morning. The meeting concluded with a visit to the Apartheid Museum in Johannesburg.

The Commission will next meet in June 2025, hosted by the Anglican Communion.



Members of IPAC

Anglican

The Rt Revd Dr Royce Victor (Church of South India) Co-Chair

The Revd Canon Professor James Amanze (Church of the Province of Central Africa)

The Revd Natalie Blake (Church in the Province of the West Indies)

The Revd Dr David Hilborn (Church of England)

The Revd Neli Miranda (Church of Central America) joined online

The Revd Canon Dr Preston Parsons (Anglican Church of Canada)

Dr Christopher Wells (Anglican Communion Office) not present

The Revd Neil Vigers (Anglican Communion Office) Co-Secretary

Pentecostal

The Revd Dr David Wells (Pentecostal Assemblies of Canada) Co-Chair

The Revd Dr Paul Alexander (Assemblies of God, USA) Co-Chair

The Revd Dr Glenn Balfour (Assemblies of God, UK)

The Revd Dr Simo Frestadius (European Pentecostal Theological Association, Elim Pentecostal Church)

The Revd Professor Jacqueline Grey (Australian Christian Churches)

The Revd Dr David S. Han (Church of God - Cleveland, USA) not present

Apostle Professor Opoku Onyinah (Church of Pentecost, Ghana)