Chancellor and three archbishops elected for Church of Nigeria


Chancellor and three archbishops elected for Church of Nigeria


George Conger

The General Synod the Church of Nigeria has elected three new archbishops to serve the ecclesiastical provinces of Jos, Kaduna and Kwara and a chancellor for the national church.

Meeting at St Paul’s Cathedral in Port Harcourt in Southern Nigeria’s Rivers State on 22 September 2017 the House of Bishops elected the Most Rev. Henry Ndukuba, Bishop of Gombe as the new archbishop of Jos. He succeeds the Most Rev. Benjamin Kwashi, Bishop of Jos, who is approaching retirement. The province of Jos comprises ten dioceses in central Nigeria’s Middle Belt.

The Most Rev Olusegun Adeyemi, Bishop of Kwara, was elected Archbishop of Kwara in succession to the Bishop of Igbomina the Most Rev. Michael Akinyemi. The Province of Kwara comprises seven dioceses in the west of Nigeria’s Middle Belt.

The Most Rev. Ali Buba Lamido, Bishop of Wusasa was elected Archbishop of Kaduna Province in succession to the Most Rev.  Edmund Akanya, bishop of Kebbi. Kaduna Province comprises eleven congregations in Northern Nigeria.

The General Synod elected the Republic of Nigeria’s former Minister of State for Petroleum and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Henry Odein Ajumogobia SAN, as Chancellor of the church.